New York Surgical Society Election to Membership

Dear Dr. LoSasso,

The Executive Council of the NYSS has approved your application with pleasure.  On behalf of the Council of the New York Surgical Society, I would like to offer my congratulations on your election to membership.

The New York Surgical Society was founded in 1879 for the purpose of sharing clinical outcomes following new and established approaches to surgical conditions.  Over the years, surgeons like Drs. H.B. Sands, Lewis A. Stimson, Charles McBurney, Allen O. Whipple, Frank Glen and more recently, Arthur Aufses, Frank C. Spencer, Keith Reemtsma and G. Tom Shires presided over the Society. 

Today, the purpose of the New York Surgical Society remains the same: to cultivate the science and art of surgery and to promote education within the medical profession.  This is done through two yearly lectures and two yearly scientific meetings where member surgeons, residents and guests present and discuss selected papers.  

As a welcoming gesture, the New York Surgical Society is pleased to invite you to our Tripartite Meeting with the New York, Philadelphia and Boston Societies on Friday, May 3, 2019.  The event will be held at the Cornell Club (6 East 44th Street) from 2:00pm – 5:00pm. Cocktail reception at 6 and dinner at 7:00pm. Carlos Pellegrino, M.D. will be our guest speaker.  Business attire is required.  (Reservation form will be forwarded to you next month).

You will then be formally introduced to the New York Surgical Society membership at our Annual Dinner, which will take place in October.

I invite you to visit the Society’s website where you can find its history, its Constitution and By-Laws, and other useful information.  In June you will receive a copy of the 2019-2020 schedule and information about membership dues. 

I hope that you will become an active participant to the proceedings of the Society throughout the academic year.  Congratulations again on your election,

Michael Bernstein, MD                                                     John Cosgrove, MD

President                                                                            Secretary